World MMA Awards: Full list of nominees announced

2 mins read
World MMA Awards: Full list of nominees announced

The yearly Fighters Only World MMA Awards have been released for the 14th annual awards. “We are back to a full-strength awards show this year, that will be our biggest to date,” saidFighters Only CEO Rob Hewitt via a press release. “Las Vegas will once again be home to the world’s best MMA fighters and celebrity fans who will all come together to celebrate. Growing on previous years, the 2022 event will be free from restrictions and have a greater broadcast reach, making sure our fan-focused show, the ‘Oscars’ of MMA, will pay greater tribute to the sport and its award winnersthan ever before.”The eligibility period for these awards took place between July 1, 2021, and June 30, 2022, and voting is open now through September 30. Charles ‘Mask’ Lewis Fighter of the YearAlexander VolkanovskiJohnny EblenCharles OliveiraIslam MakhachevFrancis NgannouFemale Fighter of the YearJulianna PenaCris CyborgKayla HarrisonValentina ShevchenkoRaquel PenningtonBreakthrough Fighter of the YearPacific OceanMateusz GamrotPaddy PimblettMolly McCannJohnny EblenInternational Fighter of the YearAlexander VolkanovskiRoberto SoldicMateusz GamrotIslam MakhachevKhamzat ChimaevFight of the Year Jiří Procházka vs. Glover Teixeira – UFC 275Justin Gaethje vs. Michael Chandler – UFC 268 Alexander Volkanovski vs. Brian Ortega – UFC 266Khamzat Chimaev vs. Gilbert Burns – UFC 273Max Holloway vs. Yair Rodriguez – UFC Vegas 42Knockout of the YearMichael Chandler (Front Kick) vs. Tony Ferguson – UFC 274Ignacio Bahamondes (Wheel Kick) vs. Roosevelt Roberts – UFC Vegas 34Sergio Pettis (Spinning Backfist) vs. Kyoji Horiguchi – Bellator 272Molly McCann (Spinning Back Elbow) vs. Luana Carolina – UFC Fight Night 204Roman Faraldo (Flying Knee) vs. Robert Turnquest – Bellator 271Submission of the Year Jiří Procházka (Rear-Naked Choke) vs. Glover Teixeira – UFC 275Stevie Ray (Modified Body Lock) vs. Anthony Pettis – PFL 5Oliver Enkamp (Inverted Triangle Choke) vs. Mark Lemminger – Bellator 281Jessica Andrade (Standing Arm Triangle Choke) vs. Amanda Lemos – UFC Vegas 52Charles Oliveira (Rear-Naked Choke) vs. Dustin Oliveira – UFC 269Comeback of the YearSergio Pettis vs. Kyoji Horiguchi – Bellator 272Carla Esparza (career)Clay Guida vs. Leonardo Santos – UFC on ESPN 31Aljamain Sterling (overcoming intense ridicule & injury)Chris Curtis (career)Upset of the YearJulianna Peña vs. Amanda Nunes – UFC 269 Mariusz Pudzianowski vs. Michał Materla – KSW 70 Matheus Scheffel vs. Bruno Cappelozza – PFL 5Ben Parrish vs. Christian Edwards – Bellator 266Seika Izawa vs. Ayaka Hamasaki – RIZIN 33 Best Promotion of the YearUFCBellatorPFLCage WarriorsKSWLeading Man of the YearDana White (UFC)Scott Coker (Bellator)Peter Murray (PFL)Graham Boylan (Cage Warriors)Kerrith Brown (IMMAF)Referee of the YearJason HerzogMarc GoddardMike BeltranMark SmithKeith PetersonAnalyst of the YearPaul FelderMichael BispingDan HardyKenny FlorianDominick CruzPersonality of the YearLaura Sanko Daniel CormierChael SonnenJoe RoganJon AnikBest MMA ProgrammingUFC EmbeddedDana White Contender SeriesThe MMA HourJRE MMA ShowMorning KombatMMA Media Source of the YearMMA FightingMMA JunkieESPNBT sportsSherdogMMA Journalist of the YearAriel HelwaniJohn MorganShaheen Al-ShattiAaron BronsteterMike BohnCoach of the YearEugene BaremanEric NicksickMike BrownHenri HooftDiego LimaGym of the YearCity KickboxingXtreme CoutureAmerican Top TeamKill Cliff (formerly Sanford MMA)Fortis MMATrainer of the YearPhil DaruJordan SullivanAndrew WoodHeather LindenCorey PeacockRingcard Girl of the YearBrittney PalmerArianny CelesteLuciana AndradeBrooklyn WrenChrissy BlairFighting Spirit of the YearKevin Holland (Bravery – in and out of the cage, helping his community in the face of dangeron several occasions)Aaron Aby (Heart – surviving cancer and battling cystic fibrosis to become a top contender inCage Warriors)Bryce Mitchell (Charity – dedicating half of his UFC 272 fight purse to help children inmedical need in his native Arkansas, with a special mention for Dana White who matchedMitchell’s contribution)Alexander Volkanovski (Determination – demonstrating a champion’s will to overcomeadversity and battling through a seemingly inescapable submission from Brian Ortega)Robbie Lawler (Compassion vs. Nick Diaz – displaying true respect & genuine care for hisopponent’s wellbeing in life)
Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

Dana White: ‘Paddy Pimblett has that Conor McGregor vibe’

Next Story

Amanda Nunes says losing to Julianna Pena: ‘Fired me up’

Latest from Blog